Skip navigation

Do you sometimes wonder, “What the heck am I doing here?” when you don’t think you want to be at a certain place. But there you are standing there, at the exact spot where you didn’t want to. Isn’t it funny (or rather irritating) sometimes when you try to avoid being at a place where you didn’t want to but still, no matter what you do, you still end up exactly where you didn’t want. Hahaha…

 

If you did, then I’ve just had the exact same experience that you did. My story started 3 days ago on a Saturday. It wasn’t any ordinary Saturday. It was the day when (I thought) I was suppose to share with the Boys’ Brigade about brotherhood. But it turns out that I made a mistake and realize that i was suppose to share the following week. So much for the midnight oil burn which lasted till 2.30am. However, that aside, it was also my Mom’s Bday. 19 Jan. That day reminded me of Mom. How she use looked, how I use to cuddle to her every night watching TV when i was young, how she care for me and all the happy times I had knowing Mom loves me. Also realizing how that had slowly fade as years gone by due to various reasons. But nonetheless, I still missed her.

 

Having all these images flashing in my brain, I became morbid. Less on Sat, a lil more on Sun and the most today. I didn’t know why the “morbid-ness” what ever u call it grew despite knowing that she is in good hands and she has got a super nice place to “lepak” now.

 

But that was until just now. One of my BB officer’s grandmother passed away and I was burdened by conscious to attend the wake service when I was suppose to attend a meeting in church. Obviously I didn’t want to be there fearing that it might remind me of how painfully it was to have my Mom separated from me. So, I sent apology before hand to my officer, saying that I wouldn’t be there but (long story short) i end up there, at the funeral parlor.

 

I realize that God wanted me to be there for a reason. During the message that the Pastor was delivering, God reminded me through him that separation on earth is only temporary. So long as we have the passport to heaven, we will eventually meet again. Not only that. We will be given a new body! Hence, there will be no more pain, no more aches, no more illness and nothing more but perfection.

 

And then I thought, “Why the heck am i feeling sad when my Mom is happily enjoying in heaven?” Didn’t make sense at all. So, i didn’t have a reason to be sad anymore. But there is a new hope that God has reminded me of. That one day, we will all meet again in heaven with our buddy, Jesus.

picture from: http://www.helmutazamkhan.com

 

Man…where do you find someone like that? None but Jesus. You rock dude!

 

So friends, if you find yourself asking the question “Why am I here or What the heck am I doing here?” (whether to yourself or a friend), remember this: God place me here for a reason. It may not be one that you’ll find out on the spot… maybe later. But be sure that God wants you there, at that time, that day, for a reason. Trust Him, and He will tell you why when the time is right.

 

God Bless =)

Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

 

Proverbs 3:5
Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;

taken from BibleGateway.com

Leave a comment